Author Interview: Danica Winters

Today on  the blog, I’d like to welcome Danica Winters!

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=0330fd7969&view=att&th=13d9fbda49a0c1a6&attid=0.4&disp=inline&realattid=f_hep4aklb3&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P9JTpoVt4xfBMbp-qJaddIr&sadet=1364482317869&sads=4dLQbVe5M9f7lNAh2tes1xEGTOI

Danica is a sister author with Crimson Romance!!

Welcome Danica!! It’s nice to have you here today!!

Thanks, Lillie, nice to be here!

Well, how about answering a few questions….(I promise, nothing to hard!)

1) How long have you been writing?

I have been writing for about five years.  I started in other genres and magazine articles, and then decided I needed the challenge of writing full length fiction.  My jump into Romance was, and has always been, what I wanted to write, but it took a bit of time to dismiss other’s opinions and follow the path my heart wanted me to travel.

2) How many balls do you juggle on a daily basis, and how do you manage to keep them all in the air (usually), (ball = work, writing, family, etc.)

I’m a very busy lady. I teach classes on writing. I have a busy Paranormal Romance blog (http://paranormalromancefanforlife.blogspot.com/ ).  I try to work out each day (I like to bike). I have small children and, like most moms, I find they require most of my attention.  However, when they are asleep I hit my stride and try to make the most of my time.  I also have a full-time job working for a publishing house called Books To Go Now out of Seattle.  So when I’m not working, writing, or parenting I’m helping other authors in getting their titles the exposure they need.

3) What can you tell us about your release The Nymph’s Labyrinth? What I’m looking for is the story about how the story came to be, not just the blurb and what not. 😉

Back in the day (pre-family) I was a trained Archeologist.  This was my first passion!  I loved getting into a site, getting dirty, and finding artifacts which had been lost for hundreds or thousands of years.  I had the distinguished honor of working on the pit houses in British Columbia—and that experience helped to shape me.

From this experience (and my love of history and archeology) I knew I had to write the book that incorporated these loves and The Nymph’s Labyrinth was born.

In addition to my love of history I have always been interested in Greek Mythology (thanks to a grade-school teacher who shared his passion of the classics with a group of young heathens).

4) What is it about the paranormal romance genre that you like so much?

I love writing paranormal romance.  I find that it’s one of only a few genres in which your only limitation is your own imagination.  You don’t have to follow the laws of reality—you can make anything possible as long as your write it well.

5) Do you think you’ll move to another genre, and if yes, what to and when?

I have published a sweet contemporary romance and I do like writing within that genre.  If I have characters who need me to write within the genre, I would think about moving.  However, I find that most of the characters that find their ways into my mind are usually paranormal based.

I must add that my style of writing is similar to that of Charlaine Harris in the fact that it is ‘light’ paranormal—I write characters in everyday life who experience paranormal experiences.  My titles are closer to reality than Sci-fi.

Now for some fun stuff!!

6) Sweet or sour?

Sweet

7) Chocolate or vanilla?

Chocolate—every time!

8) Any future projects?

I’m proud to say that I am under a multi-book contract with Crimson Romance.  The next book after The Nymph’s Labyrinth in the Nymph Series is entitled Montana Mustangs  and is set to be released May 6, 2013.  And I’m currently writing the third book in the series.

9) What is your biggest fear?

I have to admit I’m terrified of heights.  A couple of years ago I had the chance to go off-roading in Moab.  It was an experience that pushed me past my limits several times.  Whoever said the best way to get over a fear by facing it was a big fat liar.  LOL I am now more afraid of heights than ever.  🙂

What about you? What’s your biggest fear?

OMG!! I’d have to say… clowns… Ever since I watched Stephen Kings… “IT” and spiders, I really dislike spiders, and mice, anything that’s creepy and crawly… *shivers*

Now, can you tell us something about Nymph’s Labyrinth?

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=0330fd7969&view=att&th=13d9fbda49a0c1a6&attid=0.3&disp=inline&realattid=f_hep4a2sv2&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P9JTpoVt4xfBMbp-qJaddIr&sadet=1364482097090&sads=8QetPqyL4K9T7hnb_6qfWopPU54&sadssc=1

A world shrouded in mystery and intrigue, the Sisterhood of Epione must not be exposed.

A Shape-shifting nymph, Ariadne, is tasked with keeping the truth of her group’s existence and their ancient mysteries far out of reach of an American archeologist and his troublemaking son.  When forgotten and forbidden passions are awakened, Ariadne is forced to make a choice—fall in line and continue to be overrun and pushed down by the sisterhood, or follow her heart and put everyone’s lives in danger.

Can she have the man she loves or will the pressure and secrets of the past keep her from her heart’s desire?

About Danica Winters:

Danica Winters is a bestselling author who is known for writing award-winning books that grip readers with their ability to drive emotion through suspense and often a touch of magic. When she’s not working, she can be found in the wilds of Montana testing her patience while she tries to understand the allure of various crafts (quilting, pottery and painting are not her thing).  She always believes the cup is neither half full nor half empty, but it better be filled with wine.

Website | Blog | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook |

Other Books by Danica Winters:

The Nymph’s Labyrinth

Love Under the Christmas Tree

A Christmas Miracle

The Vampire’s Hope

Curse of the Wolf

An Angel’s Justice

Coming Soon from Danica Winters (2013):

Montana Mustangs (May 6, 2013—Crimson Romance)

Montana Mustangs: Book 2 of the Nymph Series

A nymph: a woman with the ability to seduce at will, shift to protect, but cursed with the fate to have the man she falls in love with die a tragic death. As one of these ill-fated nymphs, Aura Montgarten has spent her lifetime drifting from one place to another hiding from love. Until she meets Dane.

When a body washes up on the shore of a rural Montana lake, police officer Dane Burke is faced with the task of finding the killer – even if it means he will be forced to put his life and heart at risk by working with a drifter. As the truth of Aura’s Mustang-shifting nymph ways are revealed, Dane learns exactly the amount of danger he and Aura are in, but can’t force himself to leave a case unsolved when the truth is just outside his grasp.

When the killer decides he needs to take another victim – Dane – Aura must choose between their forbidden love and her immortal life. Can there be life without love or is death her only choice?

Sensuality Level: Sensual

Winter Swans (Crimson Romance)

Just wanted to add a quick thank you for agreeing to host me on your blog. It is greatly appreciated!  Happy reading 🙂

-Danica Winters

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

